Easter Explained

Easter Explained

Happy Good Friday!

Today is the biggest calender year in the Christian calender, and it’s a round about this time of year that all of my non-Christian friends start asking questions about what on earth it’s on about. Like every year. They’ll have forgotten again by next year.

So I thought it would be a good idea to share with you my answers to some of the questions I usually get asked, because a lot of you are probably as lost as some of my friends when it comes to the Christian meaning behind Easter.

If you have any questions I haven’t answered, feel free to ask me in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer them!

1) Why does Easter change dates?

This is always asked EVERY SINGLE YEAR!!

Easter is the first Sunday after the full moon that occurs on or after the vernal equinox.

….

Got that? Or in other words, Easter happened during the Jewish Passover festival, so Easter has to correlate with the changing dates of the festival.

2 )Why did Jesus have to die?

Easter is basically a celebration of death. Weird right? But actually, the thing we’re celebrating isn’t actually the death, but what the death meant for us. It’s all about sacrifice.

I also think it’s a little about balance. A sin has to be met with a punishment. Once the sin has been punished it’s cancelled out and we’re good again. Unfortunately for us, God is absolutely pure and sinless, which means that when we sin, we should originally have been punished with death.

But God didn’t want to do that so told people to sacrifice animals instead. They’d put the sin on the animal and then sacrifice it to make themselves pure. But then God sent his son to do it instead so we could put all of our sin on Him and be clean ourselves.

It all sounds a little story bookish doesn’t it? But I guess that’s where our ideas for stories have originally come from. I think the reason a lot of people don’t believe this nowadays is because we see so many TV dramas and read so many fictional books, that we believe that anything out of the ordinary is a story. And if you’re reading this, thinking it’s a whole load of naughty words, that’s fine. I’m not trying to convert you here, just tell you what we believe!

3) How did Jesus come back to life?

Basically, because God did it!

What a lot of people forget is that God isn’t human. He can do a lot of things that we can’t do. Raising someone back to life probably didn’t take a lot of effort for him.

4) Why did Jesus come back?

Because he wanted to prove to everyone that he was the son of God. Even in the people who were with him and saw him do miracles, some didn’t believe him. He also wanted to give his encouragement to his disciples to spread the word about him.

5) Why do bad things still happen now then?

Firstly, I don’t think that it’s God that’s making bad things happen. I don’t think that he looks at a little child and thinks, “Oh I tell you what would be fun, let’s give that little kid cancer.”

I think that the bad things that happen are partly our planet’s fault and partly our own fault. Things like global warming, drugs and alcohol are all things that we have created.

Some things, like cancer and other diseases obviously aren’t our own fault, but I still don’t think God’s given them to us.

6) Why doesn’t He just stop the bad things happening?

Imagine God as a Father. For years, he tried to look after his children by telling them what to do. He gave the rules and guidelines to keep them safe and happy. They chose to ignore them time and time again. Personally, I think that these days he’s chosen to step back and let us make our own choices. We’ve ignored his better judgement countless times, so I think now he’s letting us learn our lessons on our own.

But that doesn’t mean that if you ask him for help he’ll ignore you. He comes running whenever you need him and ask him for his help.

*************************************************

I hope that explained some common questions for you. As I said before, feel free to ask me any other questions and I’ll do my best to answer!

Have an amazing Easter and try not to be sick from your chocolate.

***

Leave a Reply

