Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

My most prized possession as a child was of course a teddy bear. Everyone has that one childhood toy that they loved way above the rest and for me, it was a bear that my grandma gave me on my first ever Christmas, so he’s been with me for nearly all my life (I was only 1 month old for my first Christmas).

Being the incredibly creative child that I was, I named him Teddy. He was joined over the years by other creatively named toys, such as ‘Dolly’, ‘Kitty’ and ‘Green Dog’ (*Plot twist* Green Dog was actually a bear). Teddy was originally fluffy and white. He’s now grey, patchy and only has half a mouth but he’s as loved now as he was when I was little.

One of my earliest memories is of losing him one night when I was about 5 or 6 and crying hysterical tears at the thought of going to bed without him. My parents and brothers spent hours searching for him and eventually found him, fallen down the back of the sofa.

I also used to hate to have him washed, because he would take a couple of days to dry, so couldn’t sleep in my bed. I remember my mum stealing him from his hiding place under my bed one day when I was at school and I came home to find him hanging from the washing line by his ears. Despite my mother’s warnings, I snuck downstairs in the night and stole him back, then slept with a sodden teddy bear. I got a cold.

It’s strange how attached we can become over pieces of wool and stuffing, isn’t it? Teddy now sits at the bottom of my wardrobe but every now and then I feel incredibly guilty about leaving him there and have to get him out again. In fact he’s now sitting at the bottom of my bed, staring reproachfully at me for keeping him in there so long …

What were your favourite childhood toys?

***

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Leave a Reply

