Daily Prompt: The Satisfaction of a List

I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Daily Prompt: The Satisfaction of a List

Who doesn’t love a list? So write one! Top five slices of pizza in your town, ten reasons disco will never die, the three secrets to happiness — go silly or go deep, just go list-y.

You’re right, I do love lists. But the past few weeks I’ve noticed several things that I don’t like. And they all seem to be about my own generation: teenagers. So why not write a list about them? Here’s my top five things that I hate about my own generation. And if you do any of these things, stop it.

  1. Writing ‘FIRST’ in the comments
    As if it’s some sort of achievement?! Only our generation would class it as an accomplishment but then waste it by simply stating that they are the first person that say anything!
  2. People who sit at the back of buses and play music off their phones.
    Though the other day a guy’s phone accidentally shuffled onto a classical track, which caused his friends to shout ‘WHAT YOU ON MATE? WHAT YOU ON?’ repeatedly.
  3. Saying literally all the time.
    Another bus story was when a guy was telling his friends a story from the night before and exclaimed:
    ‘I like literally shat my pants man!’
    The old lady sitting next to him piped up and asked
    ‘Did you? That’s unfortunate. And probably not something you should be shouting at.’
  4. Walking with a limp.
    I was in a shop the other day when a guy who looked about 18, was doing that weird limp walk that’s meant to be cool. You know the one where they only seem to bend one leg but swing the other one round straight? Anyway this guy’s walking was making him bob up and down so much he almost looked like he was skipping. I laughed. Out loud … then hid.
  5. Bad English.
    This is the most annoying thing in the world. People who talk, but you’re not entirely sure they were actually saying words. Just more of a series of grunts and “Ya know what I’m sayin’?s”. I don’t know if that’s just because I live in a city with one of the worst accents in the world, but it seems very frequent. And in a lot of cases, it’s teamed with some unbelievable stupidity:
    People at my high school used to call me Goldilocks. Mainly because I had goldish hair and a knack for never using my own things, but according to several guys in my year it was because ‘Goldilocks is posh innit? Like she steals like mone’ and tha'”. Twats.

What are the thing’s you really hate about the teenage generation? Or anything in general? Feel free to have a rant!

***

Leave a Reply

