Cut-Out Cupcakes

So it’s another friend of mine’s birthday today. Man, these things just keep coming! I feel like it was only last week that I was desperately trying to think of a present for my best friend’s birthday, but that was actually back in March!

I think I’m going to end up as a ‘thing’ girl. A lot of my friends are ‘thing’ girls. The sort of girls that, when you turn up at a party, people will ask “Oh, is cocktail girl coming?” (she does make some interesting mixes) or for the less fortunate, ‘sick girl’ – (who could forget that night?). I reckon my thing will be cakes. And that’s fine by me. Who doesn’t want cake girl to turn up?

So being the cake girl that I am, I (and a little help from Bella) baked some mean chocolate muffins. Pretty basic stuff, but tasty all the same. In an attempt to make them look a little more exciting, I coped an idea from Do or DIY’s instagram. They post some clever stuff on there (@do_or_diy if you’re interested). You can see the original post here.

DSCN1626

Mine didn’t quite work out like those in the example, but then again, when do they ever? The top was just too crumbly to stay together and I didn’t actually have a heart cutter that small so I was cutting them out by hand. If you want to try this, be prepared for a lot of mess!

DSCN1624

 

DSCN1621

I also made these little message flags out of some spare paper and cocktail sticks. I won’t tell you how to make them. It’s pretty obvious.

DSCN1630

 

Another birthday down, and almost a whole month until my next one, though that’s my Mum’s so I can hardly get away with making her cake. Any ideas anyone?

***

 

One thought on “Cut-Out Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

