Introducing Katie …

Exciting times! Today, I’m welcoming one of my best friends onto this blog! She’s going to become a sort of co-poster if that makes sense. And to start some introductions, we thought we’d complete the ‘friendship tag’ so you could get to know her a little better. Look out for some of her first posts next week …

How and when did you meet?

H: This is insanely embarrassing, but we actually met in Science Club in Year 6. Don’t judge us – we were 10. And we were picked as some of the best scientists in our different schools to come to a science club in our local high school. I’d like to say we didn’t want to go. But that’s a lie. We were both well chuffed to be chosen. Though actually, the first time we met, Katie was really horrible to me. I was the only girl from my school, and she was with two friends. I remember she ran up to me and said I looked like a blue ink cartridge – just because my school uniform was bright blue.
We did eventually bond over a worm though so it was all good. And our teacher was called Mrs Shufflebottom.

What is your favourite memory together?

K: Well, in Year 10, sitting next to each other in History (which we did virtually no work in the lessons but still got a B, thank you) we’d borrowed a glue stick from the boy in front of us. Once we’d finished using it and obviously thinking that he would be expecting us to give it back I shouted his name and threw it back at him, causing him to let out a squeal and jump sideways off his chair and into the middle of the floor. We sat for about 20 minutes hysterically laughing whilst the rest of the class gave us annoyed glares, which actually happened far too regularly.

H: That would probably be my favourite too, but for the interest of adding some variety I’ll choose a different one. Actually, I have two:
1) Our History teacher’s name was James, as was the name of the boy sitting in front of us (glue stick boy, if you’re wondering). So one of our favourite games to pass the time in those lessons was to constantly shout James, until one of them turned round, then just claim we were calling the other. Yes, we were very annoying.
2) Having a supply teacher in History (all of our fun times were in History, because that was the only lesson we had that the teachers actually let us sit by one another) called Miss Snell. She was Czech I think, but a bit of a pushover. One lesson she asked us to fetch her water bottle from a different classroom, and gave us the keys. We then realised that this key opened and closed every door in our school. So of course, we spent the next half an hour, locking all the doors we could find, then claimed it had taken so long because we’d got lost.

Describe one another in one word.

H: Hysterical (as in funny, not really emotional).

K: Sarcastic (in a good way, but also, sometimes I have no idea if she is being serious or not)

What is your dream job?

H: Midwife!

K: Wedding Photographer (which will probably never happen)

What is your favourite make-up brand?

H: Whichever’s cheapest?

K: I must say, I’m a pretty loyal Rimmel London girl

What is something that annoys you about the other person?

H: She doesn’t like doing anything that might get her into trouble. And I do.

K: She gets me into trouble because I’m no good at keeping a straight face.

If you could go anywhere in the world together, where would it be and why?

H: South Africa please? It was one of the subjects on our History course, but thinking back, I really have no idea what it was about. Just that we watched a film that had Michael Caine in it.

Favourite inside joke?

H: Enoch. Enoch Powell.

K: The JLS incident.

Who takes longer to get ready in the morning?

K: To be honest, we’re both pretty slow and take ages (at least an hour) just wasting time

Favourite season?

H: Spring

K: Summer, but then again my birthday is in October so maybe Autumn? Just whenever its not raining if I’m honest?

Favourite song?

H: Stubborn Love – The Lumineers

K: The Writer – Ellie Goulding

Heels or flats?

H: Heels. If I could, I’d wear heels everyday, but I don’t think I’m old enough for that to be socially acceptable yet?

K: Definitely heels. I probably wear them at inappropriate times because I love wearing them too much.

Favourite animal?

H: Giraffe

K: Any one that won’t bite/maul me

If your house was burning down, and your family were safe, what would you save and why?

H: It’s not necessarily one thing, and it would take me several trips to get them all out, but my mum’s scrap-booking albums because photos are memories really. But now I feel guilty I didn’t say my teddy bear. So maybe him instead.

K: Yeah, I’m going to go with the soppy answer and probably save my teddy too. We’ve been through too much together.

Comedy, horror or chick-flick?

H: If those were my only options probably chick-flick, because most comedies make me cringe.

K: I’m a chick-flick kind of people. Something which I have been heavily criticised for by people, but I just love how predictable they are because you know they will always get together in the end.

Blackberry or iPhone?

H: iPhone. In my head, Blackberrys are for the annoying chavvy girls I had form with that spent most of the five years looking like oranges.

K: iPhone because I’m just that much of a hipster…

Favourite movie?

H: Inception!

K: John Tucker Must Die – I must have watched it over a hundred times!

Do you have anything matching?

H: Matching marker pens that we stole from one of our more annoying teachers on our last day. She had them all in a colour-coordinated box and got really angry if any went missing.

Do you share clothing?

H: Katie is rather larger in the chestal area than me :L but I do steal her scarves every now and then

K: We don’t share any clothing but  we do share a (toy) chick called Louie who lives with Hannah

What are you saved as in each other’s phones?

H: Katie is saved as Postman Pat, which got my mum very confused once when she called me. She didn’t really understand that it wasn’t the REAL Postman Pat calling …

K: Hannah therefore is Jess (well in actual fact Jessikins)

What’s your favourite thing about your friendship?

H: The amount of laughing we do. We only managed to do about three questions of this together because we wasted so much time laughing. One look can have us in hysterics.

K: It’s so true. We can literally be laughing about anything and everything pretty much all the time. I also like our mutual appreciation/obsession of A Very Potter Musical (which if you don’t know what it is, you should) and Made In Chelsea.

Hannah & Katie

***

Leave a Reply

