Sochi 2014

So I’m currently sat here watching the Winter Olympics. This thing is insane! Firstly the ice hockey. Who saw a game of hockey and thought ‘you know what this game needs? A really slippy surface. Let’s do this on ice!’

And then there’s speed skating. Like what?! Probably one of the weirdest sights you’ll see in all the sports. Men dressed in really tight Lycra skating around really fast with their hands behind their backs. They just look so casual, holding the same position my grandad does when he wanders down the the newsagents in the morning. Until the corners where they’re practically skimming the floor and somehow managing to overtake!

But now, my personal favourite, freestyle skiing. Seriously, if you haven’t seen this you really should. You’ll be amazed trust me. Basically it’s skiing down a hill over what I can only describe as snow speed bumps and throwing in a spectacular jump every now and then. Kind of reminds me the when I used to slide down the stairs on my bum as a child (and still now, let’s not lie). If you’ve seen it then you’ll know what I mean …

Hannah

Leave a Reply

